The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo was written by Taylor Jenkins Reid who is also the author of the widely successful Daisy Jones And The Six. The Seven Husbands Of Evenlyn Hugo was published in 2017 by Atria Publishing Group and has received many prestigious award nominations, such as the Goodreads Book Choice Awards and an overwhelmingly positive reception.

Synopsis: Monique Grant is humble journalist who is shocked to learn that the iconic Hollywood actress, Evelyn Hugo has requested her specifically to write her autobiography, where she finally intends to reveal to the world the truth about her seven marriages and more crucially, her true love. But little does Monique know that her ordinary life and that of this most acclaimed star will cross in the most tragic of ways.

This book was written with that classy film noir elegance that perfectly captured the veneer of Hollywood fame. The writing was edgy and seamless and each story pertaining to each of Evelyn’s husbands was definitely intriguing to read. The Seven Husbands was also a very socially aware book, that explores homosexuality during a time when there was still a lot of hostile opposition to such a sexuality.

I think the societal relevance of this book was one of its main winning attributes given the representation of the LGBTQX+ community, which is something I really loved reading and would love to see a lot more of in the book industry.

That said, I didn’t love this book as much as the general consensus, as it felt a bit too dogmatic and preachy in places and engendered this very politically correct rhetoric that reflects a larger picture, where almost everything we say these days has to be heavily filtered to suit the progressive politics of our day. Don’t get me wrong. I’m an avid supporter of political correctness, but let’s be honest, it has become a bit nutty of late.

Another criticism I have is the plot twist at the end, that while shocking felt a bit anti-climatic given how much it was built up prior to the big reveal. In short, The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo was enticing, socially aware and timeless, which despite my average rating is a book I would certainly recommend.


For more Book Reviews, please click here!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: